Leave a comment

Starting a magazine 101

I guess not many people wake up and think, “I’m going to start a magazine today”. This certainly wasn’t the case for me either; rather, the seed for a publication of this sort began to germinate over a period of two years. I’ve been a magazine lover since the age of twelve, and have therefore filled approximately 1040 Saturday afternoons lying horizontal with my favourite consumer mag in hand (I’ll leave you to do the maths). When I became a Christian in my mid-twenties, I started to notice that the subject matter of these mags became increasingly empty and worldly. It’s not that I don’t want to read about the latest lippy on the market, because I do, but it would be nice if the magazine I was reading agreed that it wasn’t the be all and the end all. And in the same way, how fantastic to read of someone’s tragedy overcome, but please, give the glory to God and not the power of your positive attitude…

On the professional side, as a freelance writer working on everything from business to travel, I knew I needed an outlet to write from the heart, about things that I grapple with as a woman living in the “now but not yet”. As a conservative evangelical I’m hesitant to use phrases like “God has been leading me towards starting Radiant” because He certainly doesn’t need me to do this, but He is ever gracious and looking back He has definitely a carved a way to get me to this point, including plunging me into the deep end of managing a magazine for a year, through a twist of circumstances that only He can work. I thank Him for giving me the desire of my little heart: to start a non-cringey contemporary online magazine for normal Christian women.

Please join me on my journey as I blog the step-by-step process to launching Radiant magazine (ETA: 1 September 2012).

Leave a Reply

