2 Comments

Opening the floodgates

The problem with starting a mag “on the side” is that as soon as deadlines for paid writing work mount up, my work on Radiant is pushed exactly there – to the side. And then I look up and see that 1 September is two weeks closer than it was; and my heart starts beating a little faster than normal – kind of like it is right now just thinking about it.

Anyway, the good news is that the floodgates seem to be opening for Radiant’s contributors. Not only do I have my fab Food Editor, the lovely Lara Demnitz (who incidentally contacted me on the back of the Christian Casanova post; got to love the power of social media) but I also have two fashion contributors, Mosa Mokuena – a Jozi-based fashion designer with her MosewaMosa label – and Nicole Danielle Warr – of Vintage Lifestyle Magazine fame.

My most recent encouraging-story-of-the-week came when I approached Robyn Van Niekerk, a Christian make-up artist, and asked her if she would be at all interested in contributing to Radiant’s beauty section. She wrote back: “An email response to you would not do justice to the circumstances the Lord had set in place before I received your email. May I have your cell phone number please? I’d love to tell you more…”

Admittedly, it doesn’t take a lot to get me weepy, but the fact that Robyn had that morning decided that she needed to somehow combine her passion for giving beauty advice and writing, and had the idea of working for a magazine pop into her head while driving home, only to switch on her computer and see my mail; just caused tears of wonder to roll down my cheeks. Our God’s timing is altogether exquisite!

“I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will guide you with My eye.” – Psalm 32:8

 

2 comments on “Opening the floodgates

  1. Just been reading your beautiful blog – how exciting! I am so honoured to be a part of your first issue, Nicole! 🙂
    xxx

  2. Thanks Nicole – and Radiant is honoured to have you contribute to the first issue!

Leave a Reply

