Leave a comment

Coming up for air

Radiant launched four weeks ago and in that time I’ve been waiting for the moment when I can finally come up for some air. I’m not sure what I thought that would mean exactly, but I guess it’s a bit like a pregnant woman seeing giving birth as the end of the road and then experiencing the dawning realisation that the fun only really starts once one leaves the hospital! There are many things that I am extremely grateful for – that the launch issue came together in the end, that it received positive feedback from many, and that there are several opportunities for new contributors and even potential advertisers in the pipeline. But as I pray against anxiety (How will I grow the readership? How will I make it sustainable? Is it wise to invest so much of my time into unpaid work?) I am confronted by my lack of faith. “I need a whole new batch of miracles to happen in order to produce a second issue,” I told my mother-in-law. “Just as well you serve a God who’s in the mountain-moving industry,” she replied.

“Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.” – Matthew 17:20

The Radiant team get together to celebrate the 1 September launch:

Leave a Reply

